This iconic lighthouse, build between1860 -1864 from iron shipped from Hull and Liverpool, can be reached following a fascinating hike along a route which takes you past the industrial side of Tarragona.
According to the tourist information board placed nearby “… This lighthouse was one of the three that guided shipping in an area difficult to navigate due to the constant shifting inshore areas. It was originally located at the far southern point of the right hand side of the Delta of the river Ebro, in an area known as Punta de la Playa. It was first lit on the 1st of November with an olive oil lamp and cared for by two light house keepers. By 1883 it was equipped with a Maris lamp with two wicks and some years later that was replaced by acetylene gas equipment. The gas was manufactured on site by a calcium carbide gasometer.
This was replaced in 1929 by Dalen equipment with a 25 litre burner and a solar valve. In July 1943 the service of the two keepers were dispensed with and the lighthouse came under the control of San Carles de la Rapita. A new concrete lighthouse was built in 1975 and the iron tower was dismantled. In 1984 it was brought to the Port of Tarragona and placed at the far end of the Llevant Breakwater where it was restored. Today it’s the only example of the Ebro Delta iron lighthouses. The Lighthouse Commission agreed to keep it in service and on 16th of August 1990 it was lit for the first time following its restoration.
Since 2003 it has become the Lighthouse Museum; an extension of the Museum of the Port of Tarragona. It exhibits a collection of navigational aids housed in what was previously the lighthouse keeper’s flat. Here one can learn about the general history of navigational aids and, specifically, about lighthouses on the Tarragona coastline. There are fun activities provided for children and background information available to the general public.